• Black Box teater
  • Oslo Internasjonale Teaterfestival
  • 7.–16. March 2019
  • Performances, installations, talks,
    seminars and festival club
  • Gisèle Vienne(FR)
  • Friday 15,21.00
  • Saturday 16,19.00

“Her masterful consecration of revelry and splendour is a fierce rollercoaster – you’d better fasten your seatbelts.” Springback Magazine

Crowd showcases an emotional party, about the exalted, violent and holy aspects of art.
Based on rituals and celebrations from ancient times to the present day, Gisèle Vienne brings 15 young people together onstage. They dance as if it is the last thing they will ever do, to a playlist of classics from the rave scene by musician Peter Rehberg. Representing the coming together and activating various mechanisms of collective euphoria, Crowd is masterfully composed with slow motion, stylized movements and ecstatic states, gathering the dancers in an experience of love, violence and intimacy. Through shifts of perceptions and a diffracted experience of time, Crowd is an hallucinatory experience for the viewer’s eyes and ears.

Gisèle Vienne has worked as a director and choreographer since 1999. With her productions that are often perceived as being “disturbing” or unclassifiable, she has developed her own, unique theatrical language that consistently explores the ambivalence of the beautiful and the bizarre, most recently in The Pyre (2013), The Ventriloquists Convention (2015) and Crowd (2017).  Several of her pieces have been presented at Black Box teater amongst them Jerk and I Apologize.

  • The performance is a collaboration between Dansens Hus and Black Box teater.
  • Friday March 15, 22.30: Party / DJ-set at Dansens Hus after the performance.
  • With the support of Institut Français de Norvège for the shows in Oslo.
  • Duration: 90 minutes
  • Concept, choreography and set design: Gisèle Vienne.
  • Assisted by: Anja Röttgerkamp, Nuria Guiu Sagarra.
  • Light: Patrick Riou.
  • Dramaturgs: Gisèle Vienne, Dennis Cooper.
  • Music: selection from Underground Resistance, KTL, Vapour Space, DJ Rolando, Drexciya, The Martian, Choice, Jeff Mills, Peter Rehberg, Manuel Göttsching, Sun Electric and Global Communication.
  • Editing of playlist: Peter Rehberg.
  • Sound design: Stephen O’Malley.
  • Performers: Philip Berlin, Marine Chesnais, Kerstin Daley-Baradel, Sylvain Decloitre, Sophie Demeyer, Vincent Dupuy, Massimo Fusco, Rémi Hollant, Oskar Landström, Theo Livesey, Louise Perming, Katia Petrowick, Jonathan Schatz, Henrietta Wallberg, Tyra Wigg.
  • Costumes: Gisèle Vienne in cooperation with Camille Queval and the performers.
  • Sound technician: Adrien Michel.
  • Technical direction: Richard Pierre.
  • Stage master: Antoine Hordé.
  • Light supervisor: Arnaud Lavisse.
  • Production, booking: Alma Office, Anne-Lise Gobin, Alix Sarrade, Camille Queval. Administration: Etienne Hunsinger.
  • Producer: DACM.
  • Photo: Estelle Hanania.
  • Co-producers: Nanterre-Amandiers CDN, Le Maillon, Théâtre de Strasbourg, Wiener Festwochen (Vienna), Le Manège Scène nationale de Reims, Théâtre National de Bretagne (Rennes), CDN Orléans (Orléans) , BIT Teatergarasjen (Bergen), La Filature Scène nationale de Mulhouse.
  • Support by: of CCN2 – Centre Chorégraphique National de Grenoble and CND Centre national de la danse.